No Regrets

Take the chance.
God knows the outcome.

I don’t often listen to the radio anymore, but a few days ago I heard a host late at night talk about a survey that had been done asking people at the end of their lives about the elements that they regret most about their lives. Most people replied that they wished they’d taken more risks, but not in the sky diving from space sort of way. They wished they’d done more to see if they could make their dreams come true. It reminded me of one of a popular and certainly applicable quote from the Holy Bible:

“I can do all things through Christ who strengtheneth me.”

~ Philippians 4:13

I know it can be scary putting yourself out there, and doing things knowing that there is the possibility you might fail or have the result of your actions hurt you or others in some way. Hearing people in today’s society constantly putting hopes and dreams off or masking their true personality to please a particular group of people irks me to my very core. It’s almost as if one is afraid to take on a particular endeavor because one feels alone on it. Isn’t that short-changing God? Doubting His Power maybe? 

Because you see, you can’t go into anything afraid to fail. You have to go into it knowing you might fail, but that’s okay because God will not leave you or send you into a realm from which a recovery is impossible. If you don’t try, won’t you always wonder? That question is not meant to drive youth, adolescents, and adults into a fury of unhealthy experimentation, but rather it is meant for you to think about the direction of your life and the goals that you hope to accomplish. Always pray that your righteous deeds, however rare you think they may come around, guide you into a life of no regrets. 

Regrets are often times the result of sin in our life. Think about it. Think about specific regrets that you have in your life and ask yourself if they are the result of sin or unwise choices in your life. Maybe it is not even your sin but the sin of someone that has left you with regrets. We must acknowledge that this is a fallen world and we all mess up all the time. Even when we try to do good, we simply cannot do it. All we can do is try. God wants you to try. Think first, then try. A regret is a horrible, unavoidable feeling. Let us pray we live trusting the Power of God and His guidance for our well-being. 

In a survey from an article titled “The Top Five Regrets of the Dying” published in “The Guardian” in February, 2012, these are the top five regrets:

1. I wish I’d had courage to live a true life to myself, not the life others expected of me.
2. I wish I hadn’t worked so hard.
3. I wish I’d had the courage to express my feelings.
4. I wish I had stayed in touch with my friends.
5. I wish that I let myself be happier.“God’s work done in God’s way will never lack God’s supply” — Hudson Taylor

“Has this world been so kind to you that you should leave with regret? There are better things ahead than any we leave behind.” — C. S. Lewis

About authorspeaks

I am a 29 year old Coptic-American living in Los Angeles.
This entry was posted in Discussion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to No Regrets

  1. Yodit says:

    Thank You so much for the nice article, but it has been a while since you wrote your last article. Please write more.

Leave a Reply

